What’s Hobby Lobby’s Interest in My Uterus?


On June 30, 2014 the Supreme Court ruled (5 to 4) that “two for profit corporations with sincerely held religious beliefs do not have to provide a full range of contraceptives at no cost to their employees pursuant to the Affordable Care Act.”

The two companies at play here are Conestoga and Hobby Lobby. Both argued that some forms of birth control were paramount to abortion and being a party to that would violate their religious beliefs.

Putting aside that birth control is used to manage serious conditions and illnesses aside from preventing pregnancy…

And ignoring the whole FREE WILL issue…

I still fail to see how what any woman does with her body can violate someone else’s religious beliefs. What if we weren’t talking about popping a pill or inserting a device but instead we were talking about wearing a hat. So, I have this hat that’s pretty functional. It’s over ninety percent effective from stopping the rain from destroying my hairstyle. But you think it’s a horrible thing to interfere with the rainfall. God made it rain, so clearly the rain is a divine act of nature. How dare I interfere with God’s plan? Obviously, there will be hell to pay because God doesn’t like it when people interfere with his plans!

So…who died and put you in charge of God’s vengeance?

We’ll come back to that because the main issue is how Hobby Lobby is affected by what happens inside my uterus.

Will there be a Hobby Lobby representative in the doctor’s office cheering me on when I get the prescription or device inserted? Or maybe one of the owners is going to perform the procedure themselves? No? Well, maybe Mr. and Mrs. Green will be waiting in the lobby to pay for everything when I emerge from the doctor’s office. They’ll ask me “How did it go?” and I’ll wave the piece of paper the doctor gave me (instructions, prescription, whatever), they’ll pat me on the back and walk up to the receptionist to fork over the cash. Then we’ll head back to the office together. No? Hmm… Maybe there’s some magical connection between us and whatever happens inside my body also happens inside their bodies!

Hopefully, you see my point.

I don’t care if the owners of Hobby Lobby believe in magical fairy dust or they think birth control was created by the devil. I don’t care if they think the end of the world will descend upon the human race because women abort pregnancies. I honestly don’t care. I’ve got too much going on in my life to try to police people’s thoughts. And I don’t care if they act accordingly. If Mrs. Green wants to be like Mrs. Duggar and have 20+ kids, more power to her! Again, I have no desire to coerce people into actions that are appropriate because I deem them so. It’s your life and you’re the one that has to live with the consequences.

So, why can’t you afford me the same respect? Why is it so hard for you to say “I wouldn’t do it, but go ahead and knock yourself out.” Why must you exert dominion over other people’s bodies?

Is that really what you think Jesus would do? Do you think he’s sitting up yonder looking down on you going “That’s right! You tell them! It’s evil!” All that “turn the other cheek, love thy neighbor, dying for your sins, free will” b.s. was just a misunderstanding I guess.

It truly saddens me that I live in a country where the wisest of us doesn’t see anything wrong with denying the many access to basic health care because of the judgments of a few. So, what do we do about it? I suggest the answer lies in religion.

religion is an organized collection of beliefscultural systems, and world views that relate humanity to an order of existence.

I propose we begin a new religion. One that prioritizes individual choice and self-determination. I believe that free will is a divine, inalienable right. It is the root of all freedom because without it we would all be at the mercy of other’s wishes.

 

Leave a Reply

