Blog Hop On Writing


Thank you to Belinda Buchanan who invited me to join this blog hop!

Belinda 1

 

Belinda G. Buchanan is a writer of edgy, women’s fiction & mystery romance. Her first novel, After All Is Said And Done, frequents amazon’s top 100 in women’s fictions and is a story about infidelity, healing and forgiveness. Her other books include: The Monster of Silver Creek, a mystery/romance, and her latest, Seasons of Darkness – a coming of age story about a young man struggling to live among the shattered remains of his family after his mother’s suicide.


Married to her soulmate of twenty-three years, and a mom to two boys, she lives in the bluegrass state of Kentucky along with a menagerie of animals that includes two persnickety cats, one hamster, and a dog that thinks he’s a person.
Belinda loves to chat almost as much as she likes to write so come on over and visit her on facebook or twitter. And if you’re a pinner come find her on pinterest.

Last week Belinda invited me to join a blog hop on the writing process. You can find her post here. Below you’ll find my answers to the same questions.

About My Writing Process

What am I working on now?

I’m currently in what I call writing-only mode, which means no reading and no editing. It’s by far the most fun for me. When writing new material, I generally work on several projects simultaneously. I’m jumping back and forth between the second and third books in The Morrow Girls Series. Both are sequels to How to Knock a Bravebird from Her Perch. The way I have the series structured I’m able to work on the third book without finishing the second because each book has a different main character. I also need a mental break from time to time so jumping between them keeps me fresh.

How does my work differ from others in my genre?

My work is a bit complicated when it comes to genre classification. It doesn’t fit neatly anywhere so I’m not really sure how to compare it to a genre standard but like Belinda my stories tend to be on the edgy side. I write about what pisses me off, basically. So, all of my story-lines center around some kind of injustice. I make no guarantees for a happy ending. I try to take the reader through an emotional journey and give them closure with an ending that feels realistic.

Why do I write what I do?

I want to get people thinking about important issues and the best way to do that is to depict the issue in a more intimate setting—to make them care about a character who is going through it. With my stories, you’ll find that the protagonist will often fall through the cracks of a well-meaning institution like the criminal justice system, which is far from perfect. My hope is that someone will read one of my books and be horrified and motivated to change the system.

How does your writing process work?

I wait until something really pisses me off or breaks my heart and then think of the type of person who would be the most interesting to experience it. Then I free write. Usually I’ll get about two chapters in before I decide to scrap it all and start over. I’ll refine the character and rework the plot, then start again. Sometimes it sticks other times I’ll have one more rewrite before my final first draft.

Then comes the manic stage where I reread and even dream about the story. I’ll have days, weeks even where I’m obsessed with small and big details. I’ll wake up in the middle of the night with an idea for a line that needs to be inserted in a specific paragraph and chapter. Once I’ve raked over the text I sit back and focus on the larger picture. Was there an element of the character that I missed? Something that can add tension or a deeper level to the conflict? This is a fun part for me too. It’s the only time in the writing process that I allow outside influences—television, movies, and possibly even other books that are similar to the story in context or mood.

Then there’s the final revision (3rd draft in case you’re keep track), which I’ll share with my first round of beta readers.

Upcoming Authors

About Christina Palmer

When I was still in High School, one of my friends smuggled in a book she had found in her Mom’s bedside drawer. It was Princess Daisy by Judith Krantz. As a group we giggled over the steamy sex scenes in that book, but I was more than amused, I was intrigued (amongst other things) and asked if I could borrow it. Well you know what? I never actually gave it back and I realize now, that was the beginning of my love affair with erotica. At my husbands encouragement I decided to publish one of his favorites “Taking Jenny” onto Kindle last year and 30,000 sales of my stories later, here I am.

Books by Christina Palmer: Amazon

About J.M. Guillen

JM Guillen is a part-time super-villain who is no longer homeless. Other than his attempts at attacking St. Louis with a kraken, he is best known for allegations regarding the 2008 Hephaestus Initiative. His identity in the super hero biased media is “The Pen Dragon.”

Despite his tendency to lie outrageously and steal company supplies, his contract with Irrational Worlds is valid at this time.

No allegations regarding the 2008 incident have yet been proven.

Books by J.M. Guillen: Amazon

About Melodie Ramone

I’m a wife, mother, keeper of fuzzy critters, author, speaker and certified Kitchen Witch. When I’m not creating Culinary magic, I can usually be found writing stories, reading books, relentlessly tweeting, knitting or delving into fringe Physics. Super geek? Oh, yeah.

More on Melodie Ramone: Website   Twitter
Books by Melodie Ramone: Amazon

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop On Writing

Leave a Reply

